Skills assessment is a process in which your skills are assessed based on your courses and work experiences to check if your skills meet the standards to work in a relevant occupation. Skills assessments are compulsory for some visa types (such as 189 and 190) and may be required by others. 

Skills assessments are issued by relevant skills assessing authorities. Different assessing authorities are responsible for different types of occupations, therefore their requirements, length of time and prices of assessing are all different. Here are some of the assessing authorities of common occupations:

  • VETASSESS: Vocational education and training (VET) skills 
  • Trades Recognition Australia (TRA): Trade skills
  • Australian Nursing & Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC): Nursing and Midwifery skills
  • Medical Board of Australia(MedBA):Medical related skills
  • Engineers Australia: Engineering related skills
  • Australian Computer Society (ACS): Information System related skills
  • Certified Practicing Accountant (CPA): Accountants